Go to main navigation
3525 Piedmont Road NE, Atlanta, Georgia 30305
Free Consultation | 24/7 404-857-4059 404-857-4059
/ Home / Blog

Blog

Recent Blog Posts

Court Rules 20-Year-Old Workout Pants Can Be Subject to DNA Testing in Aggravated Assault Appeal

In White v. The State, the Georgia Court of Appeals ruled that 20-year-old workout pants could be DNA tested in an appeal of an aggravated assault case. The lower court previously refused to allow for the DNA testing because of evidence that the biological material would have deteriorated over that time. The court believed the… Read More »

Georgia Appeals Court Agrees to Grant New Trial in “Peeping Tom” Case

In Edge v. The State, Timothy Dwight Edge appealed the denial of his motion for a new trial after he was convicted on a “peeping Tom” charge. In his appeal, Edge argued the following: There was not enough evidence to support the verdict. Misconduct on the part of one or more jurors played a role… Read More »

Georgia’s Serious Penalties for Marijuana Possession

While many states have decriminalized or even legalized recreational marijuana, Georgia has not. In fact, possessing less than an ounce of marijuana could lead to up to 12 months’ incarceration and fines up to $1,000. Those caught with more than an ounce could face felony charges, with a conviction leading to a jail term of… Read More »

What’s the Difference Between a Misdemeanor and a Felony?

The primary difference between a felony and a misdemeanor in Georgia is the severity of the crime. Misdemeanor offenses typically involve acts that result in minor losses and damage to property or victims. Felony crimes, however, tend to be much more serious in nature. The following is an overview of the three main categories of Georgia criminal… Read More »

Will You Go to Jail for a Possession Charge in Georgia?

The penalties you might face if convicted of possession depend largely on the type of drug in question and the amount in your possession at the time of arrest. Although many states have begun to legalize or decriminalize the use of recreational marijuana, the state of Georgia can still be quite harsh when it comes… Read More »

What Are the Consequences of Underage Drug Charges?

When you’ve been convicted of a drug crime in Georgia, you could face some very severe consequences. But what if a minor committed the offense? While the state has different legal processes for juveniles, the consequences of a drug arrest can still be quite harsh for young people. It’s important to work with a juvenile… Read More »

What Is the Court Process After an Arrest for DUI?

What Is the Court Process After an Arrest for DUI? Being placed under arrest for any reason can be an intimidating experience, especially for an offense as serious as a driving under the influence (DUI). Understanding how the court process works for DUIs in Georgia can help make the experience a little less daunting. The… Read More »

What Kind of Crime Constitutes a Federal Offense?

Two main factors determine whether a crime will be classified as a state or federal offense: jurisdiction and severity. The government must have jurisdiction to regulate a behavior. A state has jurisdiction over a certain crime if the crime happened within that state’s borders and is a violation of the state’s laws. A crime that… Read More »

What Happens After a Conviction of DWI or DUI?

Although most driving under the influence (DUI) offenses in Georgia are classified as misdemeanors rather than felonies, the penalties for DUI convictions in the state are typically more severe than for other types of misdemeanors. The specific penalties you face may differ depending on the circumstances of the case, but all Georgia DUI convictions come… Read More »

If You’re Arrested for Marijuana Possession, Will You Lose Your Driver’s License?

One of the most common questions we receive from people who have been arrested for marijuana possession is whether a conviction will result in a suspension or revocation of their driving privileges. Thanks to a 2015 change in Georgia law, a simple possession charge does not result in a driver’s license suspension unless the person… Read More »